In which I meander…for the first time this year

Ah beloved blog. Bloggitybloggityblogblog…I knew I would soon tire of you. All of a sudden though, I woke up with an urge to communicate and who am I to ignore that? Well, exactly.

What have I been up to since I last graced these hallowed [web] pages with my verbose, systematically meandering prose? Well, something bad happened workwise (nothing I could help and it only involved me in an extraordinarily peripheral way *throws angry glance at UK Supreme Court* *mutters* but was still a pain in my ass). More importantly, I have been home for Christmas (Muddled 1, ridiculous snow 0), which was lovely. Really, surprisingly delightful. For the second year running we had no fights. As I type this I am sure of two things: (a) most of you hate me right now; and (b) next Christmas will be filled with familial carnage where a group of intelligent, extraordinarily sarcastic people penned in together for a week will utilize every tool in their arsenal to rip the other asunder. So a return to the Christmases of my youth, yay!

This Christmas was also more fragrant than expected…and not in the pleasant sense of the word. Six days of frozen water pipes. Imagine me in the shower (no, not like that!) on Christmas Eve pouring jugs of water over myself in order to fool myself into thinking it was a shower. It didn’t work. Grrr.

However, I did get over my utter steaming malevolence towards New Years Eve; I spent it in the company of some of my best friends drinking hot port and chatting. There was only some randomness: the DJ rang in the New Year three minutes early and seemed to only play Prince, and there was the small incident of the house fire (not actually a fire, everyone is ok, but it was scary).

Anyway, all this festive joy and the ensuing return to work (yay, work! No sarcasm) has made me consider my priorities for the year ahead…

I haven’t come up with anything meaningful.

In light of this, here are some random things I hope might happen.

  1. Everyone will be happy and smiley and only have good things happen to them. (Yeah, yeah, I know. Likelihood zero.)
  2. I will succeed in secret career plan. This shouldn’t be difficult, I rock. Also, start a fricking pension (so old, soooooo old *sobs*).
  3. Book, pay for and travel to Australia to visit Travelling Bestie. Oh she thought she was getting away from me, ahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
  4. Spread the good word of the em dash far and wide so people both understand it and USE IT. Similarly, I am willing to offer some form of sacrifice to the author gods so that lovely, wonderful writers stop using double spaces after full points. Yes, this is my constant bugbear.
  5. Um. Other stuff.

See, aren’t you glad I decided to blog again? If nothing else it lives up to its name, miscellaneous, utterly muddled musings…you missed me, didn’t you?

9 Comments on “In which I meander…for the first time this year”

  1. nettiewriter says:

    Missed you? Who are you again?

    • Muddled says:

      I’m me! Meeeeeeeeee! I know you missed me Nettie, the blogsphere is a better place with me aimlessly bumbling around in it! Not that I’m bigheaded…

  2. Tracy Tidswell says:

    Hooray to all your random plans for the year ahead and damn you for bringing up the pension thing, I sooo meant to do this when I was in my twenties.
    Mmm, hot port…..

    xxx

  3. Babs says:

    Glad you’re back, obviously, though gotta say had forgotten about the amount of prince on New Years, though remember the hot ports fondly, you forgot to mention your first ever disco nap???? A very important discovery for you Daly, think of how much further the nights out will go…

    Also you still haven’t explained what the fuck an em dash is… if you want to spread the word I suggest you start with helping me understand, I have a blog that I’ll put it up on, we’re popular in Russia.

  4. Jess says:

    I feel terrible that it took me thirteen whole days to finally read this blog post. I would like to throw my support behind number four above. I do love a good em dash!

  5. camassey says:

    Here’s my response to your ridiculous “Maybe I’ll be a grown up” notion:

    http://bit.ly/iixrYo


Leave a Reply

