In which I do not review *“Eat Pray Love”…

I refuse to blog about “Eat Pray Love”. Refuse. I mean, I tend to review movies shoddily but I feel if I got started on such a travesty of a movie this could turn into the longest, most curse-filled blog post in the history of the world. No exaggeration. If I were to review it though, some of the words I might mention are “bullshit”, “pop psychology” and “shutupshutupshutupshutUPJulia!!”

Ahem. Anyway, what have I been up to since I was last with you? I’ve been working like a maniac on my last book of the year (has anyone else noticed how quickly time is flying, btw? It is 11 weeks until Christmas eve…), it’s an excellent book with an extremely knowledgeable author, which is always good, but my, oh my, turnaround times are getting tight.

This brings me on to secret time. We all know what secret time is, right? Time built in between when we say something needs to be done and when it actually needs to be done. When I first started my job I thought (because I am good at deadlines, I like them, I respect them, sometimes I even cuddle them as I go to sleep at night) that everyone would play ball, write their article, update their section, submit their copy on the due date…I was not fool enough to think things would ever be submitted before time, just on time. Ahahahahaaaaaa….

So that was a learning curve. Now that I’ve been doing it for a while, I have learned who needs extra time to submit/correct/reply to a fricking email once in a while (arggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhh), and it all works quite nicely. I have no point to make with this, just that secret time can be very handy and that over time, you learn. I’m deep man, deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.

Also, because this would be nothing without a whinge:

I don’t feel well, I’m stressed and tired and everyone is talking about Christmas and I haven’t booked flights yet home yet, I need to figure out my remaining holiday time, I can’t muster the energy to put on make up…despite not having the energy, my overwhelming sense of shame/shiny shiny face demands that I must put it on prior to leaving the house. Damn the shame, damn it to hell.

* Also, does the completely feckless disregard for punctuation in this movie title annoy anyone else? Just me? No? Yes? Yes, it is, isn’t it?

4 Comments on “In which I do not review *“Eat Pray Love”…”

  1. Jane Travers says:

    You’re a writer, you are. No more arguments. You are. You wrote that, and it’s funny, so ner.

    And for the record I’m very, very glad that you didn’t review Eat Pray Love (even if Amazon think I would be interested in the book).

    And you’re not alone on the punctuation.

  2. Love your “extra time” and refusal to review the feckless “Eat Pray Love”! Break a pencil on those deadlines….

  3. Lady Scribbles says:

    I love your concept of ‘Secret Time’ – and I know *exactly* what you mean.

    And yes you’re not the only one who is annoyed by the complete and utter lack of attention to grammatical detail in that movie title.

    😉

    Hazel x

  4. Muddled says:

    Thanks for the comments, if I stop even one person from going to see that poorly punctuated movie then it will all have been worth it…

    I’m beginning to think I shouldn’t have given away the secret of my secret time…hm. Should anyone I work with read this, um…I never do it with *you*…


Leave a Reply

