In which I celebrate my lack of creativity…

I will never win an Oscar. Neither will I win an Emmy, a Grammy, a Tony, the Booker or a Pulitzer. Thusly, you can extrapolate that I can’t act, sing or dance. Nor can I write in a theatrical, novelistic or journalistic fashion. So far, this is a barrel of laughs, right?

I, however, am not bitter. I do not lament this lack of creativity. I don’t have the urge to write a bestselling novel that speaks to people on an intrinsic level. (Can I add here that I am fully aware of the fact that I am saying that I don’t have the urge to write, or speak to people. Here. On my blog. Which I set up. I understand irony, I’m an editor for frick sake.)

So many people are creative, want to be creative, want to be heard, should not be heard (yes, I’m looking at you, crazy American Idol contestants). And sometimes it really hits home. Hundreds upon thousands of people have talents that are wondrous to behold. Huge multi-bazillion pound industries have been built of these talents. Creativity is inherent in these people. The desire (if not the ability) to express themselves as natural as breathing. Not so for me (evidenced by the length of time it has taken me to put this post together, not to mention the trite, ridiculous manner in which I write). Despite this, I think setting up this blog is a result of seeing the almost overwhelming amount of people who are creative on a daily basis. If so many people want to write books (and they bloody do, I’ve read through inhuman amounts of slush (and I am not using “slush” in a derogatory fashion. Also, before you ask­­­, children’s books—DO NOT include pictures of your cat with your submission is the advice I would most like to give you…)) why don’t I? Surely I have a story to tell?

Do you know what? I don’t. I don’t have a story to tell, I don’t have anything to say (again, awareness of irony). I can out-drama queen Mariah but put me on a stage and I assume plank-like qualities, ask me to write fiction…well, it isn’t horror but it’s damn scary!

And it really doesn’t bother me, it never has. I am on the non-creative side of a very creative industry and I’m thrilled about it. Because I can spot an error at 20 paces.* I check running heads, paragraph indentation, count the words in a quotation. I find the end of your double parenthesised sentences (I mentioned I work in legal publishing, right?). I examine the minutiae and think about your book in a way that you never have (well, I almost guarantee this is true…). What I—and my friend The Red Pen of Accuracy—do is make creative people better at being themselves (yup, I’m that bigheaded).

I have come to the conclusion, therefore, that I am the stool under the bum of the writer. Or, taking into to account the profession we are discussing, the bar counter that props them up…and I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

*Feel free to laugh at the spelling mistakes, etc. that have probably crept into this, I spot *your* mistakes, not my own…but when I see them after the fact I will die a little inside. Enjoy!

14 Comments on “In which I celebrate my lack of creativity…”

  1. It’s sooo refreshing to hear someone say ‘I don’t want to write a book’. Usually all we hear is people wittering on about ‘how I could write a bestseller, if only I had the time to sit around in front of a computer’. Which makes us writers look like lazy-arsed buggers, and them look like overachieving success-hounds.

    We need more bum-stools! Er. Your analogy, not mine…

  2. eveleen says:

    i feel you need to be careful about using bum and stool in the same sentence….it could be misinterpreted.

  3. Jane Travers says:

    What an absolutely stonkingly brilliant blog post! For a non-creative, that is. 😉

  4. nettiewriter says:

    Hmm, non-creative you say? You have an engaging writing style – easy to read, humorous, intelligent. If you ask me, and I know you’re not, you are a talented creative non-fiction writer. Or is that an oxymoron…?
    Nx

    • Ciara says:

      Thanks Nettie! You should read my MA dissertation…alllllll about the creative non-fiction writer. Seems to be a running them in my life!

  5. keatsbabe says:

    Great blog – the Red Pen of Accuracy, now that sounds like a great title for a book…..

    • Ciara says:

      It would have to be a slasher, horror movie…me and the Red Pen going through manuscripts murdering sentences, stabbing commas…

  6. Lady Scribbles says:

    Lovely post, me darlin’! Enjoyed every correctly-spelt word of it. 🙂

    Hx

  7. First, I don’t believe you. You ARE creative, but choose to use it for other things, like making me laugh.
    Second, I thought I had the creativity of a sofa and suddenly started writing one day, which doesn’t necessarily mean I can write or I do have any creativity, but it does mean I’ve written something.
    And third, each person has their own creativity to do what they feel is best, why should writing a book be the best option? We have you to prove it.

  8. […] via In which I celebrate my lack of creativity… « Muddled Musings on Miscellaneous. […]

  9. Babs says:

    legal writers…. creative… I was unaware. Probably cos I didn’t read the books!

    Keep blogging i luk furwad to readin mure.

  10. Babs says:

    So there is another amazing blog out in the bloggedy blog world, it a blog where we summarize what Ciara blogs about… yup that’s the whole premise. A blog about a blog, blog.

    If that’s not a great blog topic, I don’t know what is!

    Eh Daly?! Hope you’re enjoying precise particulars of pensivity. It loves you. x


Leave a Reply

